Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll admit I'm fairly new to handguns, but hope to be picking up an XD45c soon. My question has to do with cleaning. While obviously an important component for any firearm, I was curious if there were any "starter kits" available that any of you recommend starting out with that contain the necessary tools, patches, solvents, etc.? Is there anything you'd recommend, or is it better to just pick up all the necessary components individually?

Thanks - I've already learned quite a bit just reading through the posts.

·
Registered
536 Posts
if you live near a wallyworld that sells ammo, just pick up a hoppes pistol cleaning kit. if you only have a 45 then you'll need brushes and patches. when(i'm sure you will) you add another caliber you just get brushes /patches for that caliber

·
Registered
57 Posts
Both the Hoppes and Kleenbore cleaning kits are fine. The big issue is not to forget to clean and lube the pistol. I am a bit type "A" when it comes to cleaning my firearms. If at all possible, I clean them after each range session when I usually run 100 - 200 rounds through the XD. Usually shoot the Atlanta Arms factory reloads or the Winchester White Box rounds which at times can be less clean than more expensive rounds.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Don't waste money on expensive cleaning kits for your handgun.

Get a bottle of Hoppes #9 cleaning solvent.
Stiff bristled tooth brush.
Roll of paper towels.
Bore Snake for your caliber.
Lubrication of your choice.

That's all you really need to keep a gun in excellent condition.

·
Registered
14,586 Posts
Don't waste money on expensive cleaning kits for your handgun.

Get a bottle of Hoppes #9 cleaning solvent.
Stiff bristled tooth brush.
Roll of paper towels.
Bore Snake for your caliber.
Lubrication of your choice.

That's all you really need to keep a gun in excellent condition.
+1
Bore snake does a great job and saves tons of time.

·