Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
725 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to enter an IDPA somewhere around my neck of the woods. I was curious to what I might need. What kind of holster, IWB and/or OWB holster, jacket/vest, belt, how many mags etc? Please help a noob out for what to have to be prepared.

Thanks

·
Registered
630 Posts
I'm looking to enter an IDPA somewhere around my neck of the woods. I was curious to what I might need. What kind of holster, IWB and/or OWB holster, jacket/vest, belt, how many mags etc? Please help a noob out for what to have to be prepared.

Thanks
I'm pretty new to IDPA myself, having shot only two matches, but I'll give it a shot. Perhaps some more experienced IDPAers can chime in with additional info or to correct anything I posted in error.

You need a good gunbelt and a good holster. Most shooters use some kind of OWB holster, although I do see some IWB. I see a lot of Kydex. I use a CBST because that is what I use for everyday carry. You will need at least 2 mags and mag holders. Many, if not most shooters have three mags and I will probably get a third mag myself soon, but you can get by with two. Bring a minimum of 100 rounds. 200 is better. Don't forget your eye and ear protection. A vest can be useful but I would wait on buying one.

My local outdoors club has a weekly IDPA practice shoot that is generally a little more relaxed than the monthly matches. I have learned a lot at these practice shoots and I highly recommend you take advantage of them if they are available at your club.

One other thing: I was a little nervous about my first shoot, especially because I'm an inexperienced shooter and I did not know anyone at the shoot. I was pleasantly suprised at how friendly and helpful everyone was. Hope you have the same experience.

·
Registered
12,197 Posts
The great thing about IDPA, you don't need much. Gun, holster, (3) mags min, ammo, hearing & eye protection, cover garment.