Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not new to shooting but I'm a noob when it comes to carry. I'm comfortable carrying with a loaded magazine only, but when it comes to one in the chamber I am a little nervous. Should I be? Logic obviously says the sole purpose of carrying is defense, and response time can be critical. But there is still the pucker factor. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Wont do you any good if its not chamber loaded. Just remember, your finger is your primary safety. Keep it off the trigger until you are ready to destroy what you are aiming at. Get a good holster that covers the trigger and you should have nothing to worry about.

·
Registered
150 Posts
I felt the same way when I started carrying. My honest opinion is if you don't feel comfortable carrying with one in the chamber then don't. Take it one step at a time. eventually you'll start feeling comfortable and you'll start carrying it chambered. It took me nearly a week to feel confident enough in my gun (and myself) to do so.

·
Registered
3,473 Posts
:lol: I was a little worried at first started carring a manual safety the after practicing found it to be to much to raise shirt draw and remember to shut off 1911 only have the backstrap Xd has backstrap and trigger plus stopp block doesnt bother me a bit 8) always remember drop clip and empty chamber before you show it to some one :oops:

·
Registered
138 Posts
If you're not comfortable with one in the chamber than I would suggest that you not carry at all... This can get you killed. There are many things that can go wrong trying to load the first round into the chamber under stress. You could have issues fumbling with the slide, the round could jam, the pistol may not go completely into battery, the mag my not be seated properly and may fall out during racking.