Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I personally carry from the time I get dressed in the morning until I strip down at night. This means that I also carry while in my home. I have a baby girl so (to keep her from getting ahold of it) my pistol never leaves the holster until I swap to the extended mag and lock it in my Fort Knox Fast Access Pistol Vault (review upcoming) at night. Granted I dont always carry my EDC XDM - I often opt for my .357 mag snubby when I am hanging out at home.

I do have a downstairs pistol vault as well but I carry at home because I have seen the results of home invasions. In most robberies or home invasions time is a luxury the homeowners do not have. It only takes seconds to kick in most doors. If you really want to protect your family and not leave them behind while you run to grab a gun, that doesnt leave a lot of options.

Before I got into real estate I worked as a military contractor in some of the worst places imaginable. So, I am tactically proficient and I personally would rather spend the precious seconds that most use running for their guns making sure my daughter and wife are protected. I can, in seconds, provide defense as the family retreats to cover in a safer part of the home (locks in, retrieves another weapon, calls 911, etc.).

I dont feel that I am paranoid, simply prepared. But, I do admit that I maintain a high state of readiness some might even call it hypervigilance. I dont live my life in fear, I simply put the measures in place to be prepared if bad things happen. Then I go about living my life confident in the fact that I am as prepared as I can be. That being said I find myself wondering who else among my EDC brothers carries in the home.