Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a bit of a noob, and have been hanging around for a while, and feel like I'm starting to figure things out. Still, there's one thing I haven't really seen a real explanation about: what is the difference between available calibers? I know .223/5.56 is the standard round (with 5.56 being a higher-pressure loading), but what are the strengths and weaknesses of other available options in the AR frame, such as 7.62x39, 6.5 Grendel, 6mm PPC, 6.8 SPC, or even more exotic/involved (.308 requires a different lower due to length?)

I'm not trying to get a 'best' cartridge, because I know that depends on application, and I don't really have one in mind yet (I'm just curious). I'm just trying to get a feel for whats out there, and an honest comparison, as most stuff I read seems to say that their chosen round is the 'best'. Is there a comparison somewhere that I haven't found?

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,759 Posts
Not sure if this is what you're looking for, but this is the most extensive AR15 caliber charts I've seen posted. And not all of the calibers are in the first post either.

Note, these are all for the AR15, and not the AR10 because I saw you state 308 up there somewhere. 308's won't work in an AR15. The bullet is too long. Theyr'e strictly AR10.

OA2.org :: View topic - How many AR15 calibers exist?

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Now thats a long list...something like what I was hoping for (thanks!) , but not much actual comparison of the different rounds. I thought I read someone saying they had a modified AR-15 lower for .308, but maybe they just meant an AR-10 lower. I guess a large part of it may be what other firearms or reloading equipment the builder has...

I'm guessing building an AR-15 in another caliber just for the sake of building one in another caliber is basically overkill?

·
Registered
2,106 Posts