Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've heard it be recommended that anyone who might want an AR in the future take this opportunity to stock up on lowers. With the incoming administration, and the gun control laws they'll likely bring with them, I'm thinking that this may be good advice. I have some questions though.

If I buy a lower now, and the assault rifle ban comes back, will I be able to build up the rifle any way I please, and consider it grandfathered in because the lower is pre-(or inter-)ban?

Is the lower the only piece that would have a pre/post-ban status? Is it true the rest of the parts on the gun are essentially add-ons to the lower?

What lower would you folks recommend?

I'm pretty ignorant to a lot of this. I'm a fairly novice gun owner, but have always wanted an AR. So, any advice is appreciated.

I've read the FAQ, but a lot of it was LE related.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
3,187 Posts
There is no telling what the regulations would be in AWB pt. 2.

If you can find a few lowers right now you should snag them up quick. Just about any lower will do the trick as they are all "pretty much" the same unless they are billet.
RRA, Stag, Double Star, DPMS, LWRC, S&W, Bushmaster.....

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So under the last AWB, if you had a pre-ban lower, you could put any attachments on it you wanted? None of the limit crap?

·
Registered
2,746 Posts
no one knows, NO ONE. **** they could come up with an AWB that makes ALL lowers contraband even lowers purchased BEFORE the ban.

OR they could not ban ANYthing.... OR they could have a feel good ban like last time.... who knows i dont think they will ban any in the next year or so. i feel any new gun legislation is going to be in the form of a GCA like the one they had in the 60's that is still current today.

·
Premium Member
8,923 Posts