Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm wondering if this is a good deal.

$1200, never fired, for Rock River Entry Tactical [linky]. It seems reasonable to me, but I'm new to the AR game. It's local, so no shipping costs would be involved.

OR

For $1200, could I build a better AR by purchasing each part separately?

AND

With the Entry Tactial, is there any reason I couldn't add railed grips and all of the other cool accessories?

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
I bought my RRA Entry Tactical for $999 with a RRA free float quad rail already installed. Times are different though. I'd be willing to spend $1200 on a complete RRA rifle right now. All of the uppers are sold out and backordered for another 4-8 weeks.

·
Registered
287 Posts
Depends on how patient you are. I'm not in a big hurry, so I decided to build mine. At the time I placed my order (3 weeks ago) I was looking at about 9 weeks to have evrything in.

I went with a CMMG complete lower, Stag 2H Upper, and a Magpul CTR Stock which will total $840 including shipping and transfer.

So if you have the time you can build one a lot cheaper than $1200.

·
Registered
1,588 Posts
Rock River arms is an excellent choice of brand. I own three and each consistently has excellent fit, tight tolerances, superb build quality, high quality parts, and crisp two stage match triggers.

Your model in question has a short carbine hand guard, tactical detachable rail/rear sight, Hogue rubber pistol grip, and standard RRA collapsing stock. Mid-length gas systems allow a better grip, longer sight radius, and lower peak gas pressures. The detachable rear sight/elevated rail is of questionable utility and a folding rear BUIS would be more versatile. The Hogue grip is best for large hands or for wearing gloves, as the finger grooves may be too far apart for some shooters. Like most factory sliders, the RRA stock will have some wobble.