Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can buy new Bushmasters for under 900.00 (new) many models.. I want a good defense rifle (but cannot afford to pay 1200-1300 for the top AR's).. is this a good price range... A-2 tatical hvy barrel mil specs 815.00 thru A-3 superlight shorty 879.00..Are these prices ok or should I look for a AK type..?

·
Registered
368 Posts
I can't say much about the typical Bushmaster models as the one I have, Bushmaster Varminter, is a high end model with top components (great barrel and trigger).

Brian

·
Registered
596 Posts
What makes you think that Bushmaster is not good enough to be considered by some to be "high end"? Just curious.

Almost every rifle manufacturer has some low end stuff, and some high end stuff. There are some small shops that only put out very high end stuff, there are some that only put out low or middle ground guns. I have a bushmaster, and bought it new after considering everything I had heard about them from people that actually owned them. I have no regrets. I won't bother to try to pigeon hole them into the low, mid, or high end gear/price point, I am simply pleased with what I have, and I would have no trouble with purchasing another product from them.

·
Registered
465 Posts
So I have a couple of Bushmaster lowers and the lowers are fine. And for a home defense carbine, a bushmaster is probably just fine. But for a hard use, serious abuse carbine, they are wanting. I have NEVER had one make it through a 1000 round rifle course without jamming. Here are some issues of the top of my head:

Receiver extension: odd diameter
No staked castle nut
No finish under FSB
No M4 feed ramps
1:9 twist barrel/ not 1:7 - personal preference
MPI barrel testing - batch only
Pressure test - batch only
MPI BOlt - batch only
Pressure Test Bolt - batch only
shot peened bolt = nope
Properly staked gas key : nope - this is critical.
staked castle nut: no.