Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
531 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alright, im building an AR15 before Osama bans them.

Since im new to them, please be nice!

First off, are there any brands I should stay away from?
Will a RRA or LAR lower or lower parts perform the same as a DPMS or other name brands?
Second, anyone got links to cheap prices for good parts?

Most important: Any legalities I should know of? Especially concerning lowers!
Can I buy a lower from anyone? Should I look for stamps or markings? what do they mean and how do they relate?

Thats it for now since ive started researching a bit before this post.:cool:

EDIT:

Current questions:
Will any flip up sight work on a Flat top or are there special ones for extra height?

Also, Are muzzle breaks very usefull?
or is it just very minor change in recoil?
Any negative to using them?

Build list:

2 PMags: $30
Del-Ton Inc, Magpul PMAG Polymer 30 Round Magazine

LAR Lower: $120
C3 Arms

Lower Parts Kit: $55
Del-Ton, Inc. AR-15 Complete Lower Parts Kit

16" Midlength Flat Top Upper w/ Bolt Carrier and Charging Handle: $395
Del-Ton, Inc. AR-15 16" Mid-Length Custom Upper

CAR 6 Position Collapsible Stock: $70
Del-Ton, Inc. AR-15 M4 CAR Buttstock Assembly - Black

Arms #40A flip up rear sight: $105
Del-Ton, Inc. AR-15 Flip Up Rear Sight
TOTAL:$692.70

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
a lower is a lower I'm preferintial to STAG lpks pick the lower you like best and buy it

As far as deals good luck pretty much so since Tuesday that have gone up concidrrably in price

Right now the only legality is that your upper must have a overal length of 16" you can go shorter but it must have a permenantly attached flash hider or you will need to fill out a form 1 and SBR it (another $200 you will never get back since the tax stamp I'd non transferable)

Good luck EBR diese will set in and you will get strung out like a crack addict

·
Registered
1,498 Posts