Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I'm a noob, if you can't tell allready! (1 post) Anyway, I just picked up a new XD40 on Friday and at the time i didn't notice, but the slide does have some blemishes on it, seems like scuff marks but they don't come out, you know..the kind that only show up at certain angles in the light. It also has about a 1 inch hairline scratch on it, not very noticeable at all, its on the angled part of the slide between the bottom part and the thinner upper part of the slide. Anyway, i cant return it to the store (sportsmans warehouse, Aurora CO) so i'm just a little bummed about it, but i'm not too concerned....but for future info... those of you who have sent back their pistols to SA, what is the process...Do I need an FFL to send it? and will they charge me a fee above the normal shipping?

This is my first gun to own, though I have a fair amount of 9mm experience from the military and i'm looking forward to taking it out to the range for the first time tomorrow (well...actually....later on today).

Peace

·
Registered
527 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Don't worry about a little scratch. Once you get some proper holster wear (character, it's a good thing) on it, you won't even notice it!

·
Registered
885 Posts
Try using a good coat of Armadillo from Blue Wonder.

It goes on similar to car wax, and the result is the same as well. It usually will fill in and hide small scratches. It also is a great protectant against rust.

·
Premium Member
151 Posts
That scratched was probably from the takedown lever. Someone must have tried flip the takedown lever into the horizontal position when the slide was closed.

·
Registered
4,183 Posts
is it black or bi-toned stainless?

·
Registered
52 Posts
Here's what the Mad Ogre thinks about scruff marks.

http://www.madogre.com/Interviews/Springfield_XD_Sub_Compact.htm