Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this topic has been fleshed out a bit, but I still have a few questions.

1. Which finish is more prone to rust?
2. Which finish is the most durable, long-lasting?
3. Does the "melonite" finish or treatment 'wear off'?
4. Is the bi-tone effectively worth the extra $$$?
5. Does the stainless on THIS particular gun have to be wiped down and oiled every single time it is touched to prevent rust?

I know its personal preference mainly, but for me, my personal preference is the best 'deal'. If the stainless is more durable or some advantage over the 'black' than I want it!

Oh, and I'm not worried about the 'revealing my position' problem some have mentioned. I have had some experience with other stainless steel products--some hold up very well (and some are pretty terrible)

Thanks for the feedback! I am probably going to order tonight:
$550 BLACK
$585 Bi-Tone

·
Registered
168 Posts
It's up to you which finish you want. I have a bi-tone model and I don't clean it every time I touch it . I wipe it down with a silicone cloth once in a while and it's held up nicely. No rust whatsoever.
Of course the melonite will probably last you a little longer but holster wear will be more visible after a while.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's up to you which finish you want. I have a bi-tone model and I don't clean it every time I touch it . I wipe it down with a silicone cloth once in a while and it's held up nicely. No rust whatsoever.
Of course the melonite will probably last you a little longer but holster wear will be more visible after a while.

So, the bi-tone hold up great, but the black finish is superior in durability?

·
Registered
168 Posts
Yeah the melonite is better in durability just because the steel is treated a bit more than the plain stainless steel bitone models

·
Premium Member
6,603 Posts
What accounts for the higher priced bi-tone then?