Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to the XD Talk forum. I have been running a Glock 34 and before that a 1911 in IDPA and USPSA matches locally.

The new XDM 5.25 looks like a great competition pistol and I want to give it a try. Here is the catch, I live in California. Now I can get a XDM 5.25 thanks to the "Single Shot Conversion" process and take possession of the mags as long as they are not assembled. But the way California law reads its a Felony to assemble the mags unless I limit them to 10 rounds using rivets and epoxy. Here is one attempt by another guy: XD(M) Magazines I think what he is doing would work OK but as I read the law a rivet needs to be involved.

I'm looking for ideas on how to limit the mags to 10 rounds, still be able to take them apart for cleaning and stay out of the California Penal System.

I'm not moving out of state anytime soon so that's not an option:)

Springfield does not make a 10 round mag for the 9mm XDM. The XD .45 mag will fit the XDM .45. Do any of the XD .45 owners with 10 round mags know how Springfield limits them to 10 rounds? Is it applicable to 9mm XDM mags?

I appreciate any help with this. If I can find a way to modify the mags to 10 rounders I will get the XDM, otherwise I will stick with the Glock or some other platform with mags available.

Thanks,
Keith

·
Registered
786 Posts
Just sell or trade them for 10 round XDm mags

·
Premium Member
1,626 Posts
Not to drive you away, but some of your state gun forums like calguns probably have ready information on this. There are also several CA FFL's that do legal 10rnd conversions.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Watch out for the insane multitude of gun laws here in Cali. I was looking to get an XDm, but they aren't on the approved list--they don't have a magazine disconnect, I think. Even with 10-round magazines, they are law enforcement only.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8