Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was at the range today trying to zero in my GP100 with Federal soft point 158gr. @ 35yrds. I was having a tough time getting in tight. That's when an old boy I know from the club showed up. He asked what ammo I was using. I told him and he said "don't you know anything? 125gr. hollow points for .357." He said to forget the 35yrd shots with 158gr and move in closer. I did as he said. He knows more than I do. At 25yrds I had GREAT groups. Three round strings and all inside the ten ring. Once in awhile I had a flyer but what do you do. So what do you think 125gr. or 158gr? I've never used 125gr before but now I have to. Any thoughts would be great. Thanks

·
Registered
6,738 Posts
Most of the published data for .357 mag does recommend 125 grain loads for best performance for personal defense bullets. Now for hunting it may be differant.

·
Registered
4,999 Posts
First, start closer. 35 yds is a heck of a distance for zeroing a gun. If you're planning to hunt with it, or just target shoot, 35 yds is fine, but for home defense or protective carry, 10-15 yds is plenty, 25 is more than sufficient (although I must admit the gp100 does quite well at 25 yds).

What rayikeo says is true, however, I just was reading something a day or two ago that mentioned that although most opinions published over the last 30-40 years leaned towards lighter+faster=better, new data coming in over the last decade indicates heavier bullets are better for self defense.

I have always liked shooting heavier ammo such as 158-180 grain through my GP100.

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
First. What is this round intended for?
This will dictate what weight and distance you are going to practice with.

·
Registered
142 Posts
For all ammo related questions I say the same two things almost every time:
1: what does your guns maker recommend?
2: from that which one goes bang every time most accurately?

·