Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,074 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In your opinion whats the best deer hunting rifle im trying to buy 2 for me and my dad and since i should be startng work at my local gun shop soon price shouldnt be an issue
any caliber....any brand

·
Premium Member
2,050 Posts
I'm no expert, but I think you can't go wrong with a Rem. 700 in either .270 or .30-06. .270's perfect for deer, but the -06 let's you go after Elk and whatnot too. Also, same calibers, but check out the new TC Icon Classic.

·
Premium Member
2,497 Posts
where you are from and the terrain there is going to be a factor in answering that question... Here in Ky, the 30-30 reigns supreme as the all around best deer rifle, other places where you may be shooting over 150 yards the 30-30 pales in comparison to other calibers

·
Premium Member
3,855 Posts
Personally i love my Winchester .270 and my Remington 700 .30-06. Both are great for some descent distances and both pack one heck of a walup.

·
Registered
1,354 Posts

·
Registered
1,074 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
well where im from is florida but obviously i wouldnt be hunting here it would be for all around ie taking trips

·
Premium Member
2,741 Posts
Remington 700 or Winchester 70 in 30-06.Ive had my Winchester 70 in 30-06 for years,its a great gun.The 30-06 gives you a wide range of bullet weights,125gr all the way up to 220gr.

·
Premium Member
7,466 Posts
Remington 700 or Winchester 70 in 30-06.Ive had my Winchester 70 in 30-06 for years,its a great gun.The 30-06 gives you a wide range of bullet weights,125gr all the way up to 220gr.