Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,582 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to 40's so please forgive me. Which brand would be the best for defensive use, and what bullet weight. I've been usin Federal hyrdashoks 180gr. Which has more stopping power, a bullet with higher weight or lower. I've heard Speer is about the best.
Thanks for your help

·
Banned
11,479 Posts
This would be a very good FAQ... It is asked time and time and time again. The FAQ should cover 9, 40 and 357. Of course as most of us know there is no "one correct answer" so a list of ammo's would be required.

·
Banned
3,861 Posts
Matt,

If your pistol is putting those Federal Hydroshocks where you aim then you have already found the best ammo for your gun.

"Stopping power" is a highly debateable term, in theory "bigger is better" stands to reason but a shot to center mass with a 135 gr. corbon is going to have more effect than an off center shot with a 180 gr. hydroshock.

Find the load that works best for you and your gun and stick with it, don't worry about grain weights and etc unless you are reloading.

See this site for related "stopping power" info.

http://www.handloads.com/misc/stoppingpower.asp?Caliber=11&Weight=135

Speer is very good ammo......if it shoots well from your particular gun, all
XD 40's will not shoot the same ammo the same way.

bd

I agree with one-eyed fatman. There is no one correct answer and this would be a very good topic to include in the new FAQ's.

·
Registered
1,552 Posts

·
Registered
1,582 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I appreciate the feedback. I bought my XD only for defensive purposes.....I've only shot around 50rds of Winchester white box through it...hit where I was aiming... Only hopefully, to never have to be used again...well except for that cat one time lol Hyrdashcks on a cat..OMG :twisted:
I've talked to Indiana State Troopers here locally, and they're why I decided to go 40, but never asked what grainage etc.