Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had my XD40 now for about 3 months, going to the range about 10-12 times, and I was wondering if 3" groups at 25 ft was any good, or if I need to get more training. I am a righty, so if I am off, I usually go low and left, which seems to be the common area for rightys. I had a guy I was shooting with, who has shot a long time, and now that I am graduating college, I won't be in the area anymore for tips/lessons. I know I want to continually get better, but I just wanted to know if I'm on the right track or not. Also keep in mind, this is my first handgun, and I started shooting 3 months ago when I bought it, so please keep that in mind. Also, if anyone has tips for how to keep me in the 10 ring, they would be great help. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,751 Posts
3" groups is all you can ask from a service grade pistol. The rest is up tp the shooter. For your low and left, dry fire practice and finger position on the trigger wil help.

·
Registered
1,721 Posts
In Self Defense Situation 3" groups will do the job.

Dry fire and watch your finger position on the trigger and practice more, you will improve.

·
Registered
889 Posts
Well it aint no target pistol :D .
I found that when I switched to the Dawson adjustable sights that my groups got smaller, down to about 1 1/2" at 20yrds, I think the factory rear sight on most guns is to wide to shoot real tight groups.
With factory sights 3" isn't bad.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Just out of curiosity, when you say your groups are so close at certain distances, how are you shooting? I was just curious if you are doing this from a bench or standing up. I haven't shot from a bench, so I am assuming that you are talking standing. Please clarify this for me and excuse my ignorance.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts