Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone experienced this? Today was the first time I shot my xdm 3.8 compact and when I was cleaning it at home after putting maybe 80 rounds thru it I found this spot that looks kinda like some finish came off the end of the barrel. Before shooting the first time I made sure everything was lubed as it should be so I'm not sure why this looks as it does... BTW this is my first time posting here. I have read and learned a lot on this great site... Thanks for any and all replies!!
IMG_20141025_184336_151.jpg
IMG_20141025_184710_367.jpg
IMG_20141025_184710_367.jpg

·
Registered
3,279 Posts
Welcome to the forum Jose C. Is it possible that it was like that when you bought it? Anyway, you can probably touch that up with a Birchwood Casey touch up pen. Or maybe even some liquid cold blue. It would hide it pretty well.

Amazon.com Birchwood Casey Super Black Touch-Up Pen Flat Sports Outdoors

My 3.8 Compact doesn't have any marks like that on the end of the barrel. That is not really a wear point. It almost looks like a speck of white paint, say from a shooting bench or something. Is it bare metal?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Appears to be bare metal. I have babied this thing since I bought it a week ago and just now got to shoot it. Makes me sick to my stomach seeing that little spot. It seems to be on the chamfered (angled) part of the end of the barrel at the crown. Also I'm referring to the spot on the bottom of the barrel above the guide rod. Thanks

·
Registered
2,120 Posts
Run it . It will show more wear in dif parts some enough. I wouldn't sweat it. Good,pics btw

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·