Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've never applied for a tax stamp or the like. This is my first time. I'm going to be building a short barrel rifle. I've found the Form 1 but really don't know how to go about filling some of the stuff out such as the manufacture, etc. Also, what do I put down for the reason that I need it? Any help you can help will be great ...

http://www.titleii.com/pdf/NewF1.pdf

Edit: I guess it's the Form 1 since I'm building the rifle.

·
Registered
4,183 Posts
For reason, I recomend "For all legal purposes"

Manufacturer is the original manufacturer of the lower reciever (assuming we are talking about an AR)

Any other questions, just holler. I have done an SBR on a Form 1 with a trust successfully.

·
Registered
5,752 Posts
i put "for collection and investment" as that is what my dealer put on my form 4s that were approved. im sure "for all lawful purposes" would work but to me it just sounds too vague

·
Registered
5,752 Posts
oh and that is the old version of the form 1. there is a new one that you have to order from the atf website since they dont have a PDF of it. its free they just mail it to your house. if you look in the top right it says (10-31-2007)
and at the bottem it says (november 2004) the old one you posted might work but why take the chance, it is different from the new one and it would suck really bad to get it sent back because of a stupid mistake.

the correct one should say (xx-xx-2010) in the top right corner.

·
Registered
5,752 Posts

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
Is an SBR a $200 tax stamp?
unfortunaty yes it's just another way for big brother to get you to tell them you have a gun and take money out of your pocket to boot

Personally I think is BS especially since you can put a 5.5" barrel on a AR pistol with no tax stamp but if you put a stock on it (which makes it less concealable) without the stamp you get slapped with a 15 year prison term