Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ive been reading reviews on tfos and i just read that they are radioactive and i was wondering if the vial were to break how hazardous would it be to my health? i know the amount of radiation would be minimul at best but it would still be harmful wouldnt it?

·
Registered
64 Posts
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure you come into contact with more radiation from being outside in the sun every day than you would from the tritium in one of those vials. I wouldn't worry about it.

·
Registered
1,540 Posts
Or a microwave.

·
Registered
2,806 Posts
Very slightly radioactive... definitely not dangerous unless you are eating vials of them on a daily basis.

Quote from Wiki...

Tritium is an isotope of hydrogen, which allows it to readily bind to hydroxyl radicals, forming tritiated water (HTO), and to carbon atoms. Since tritium is a low energy beta emitter, it is not dangerous externally (its beta particles are unable to penetrate the skin), but it is a radiation hazard when inhaled, ingested via food or water, or absorbed through the skin.[14][15][16][17] HTO has a short biological half-life in the human body of seven to 14 days, which both reduces the total effects of single-incident ingestion and precludes long-term bioaccumulation of HTO from the environment

·
Premium Member
128,397 Posts
Do not ingest...otherwise you will be fine. ;)

·
Registered
29,893 Posts
IIRC, I read that if you took several thousand of the tritium vials and broke them all while you were in a small, sealed room--like a small closet--you'd be exposed to the same amount of radiation as a chest X-ray.

I wouldn't worry about 'em on that front...however, if you stake your life on a TFO, it may be hazardous when the front FO tube shakes loose at a bad moment...

ETA--from Trijicon's own website: