Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys. I'm new to AR15's and instead of purchasing my first one I would really like to build it. I have found a wealth of knowledge on here and other sites. Problem is I live in NY where the AWB is still applicable. That being said any AR that I build will obviously have the capability to accept a high capacity mag and would have a pistol grip. Therefore it can't have a flash suppressor (or threaded barrel to accept one), bayonet lug, or collapsible/foldaway stock. The bayonet lug and collapsible stock I can deal with, but what are others doing about the barrel? It can't even be threaded.

Any assistance from someone in NY would be great!

·
Registered
966 Posts
That being said any AR that I build will obviously have the capability to accept a high capacity mag and would have a pistol grip.
If you care, the law reads "ability to accept a detachable magazine..." but it's a moot point.

Anyway, you can use a threaded barrel if you have a muzzle brake permanently attached. Permanent means blind pinned and welded or welded in 4 places around the circumference or welded around the whole circumference. I've heard people say that high temp solder is also acceptable but I don't know of a ruling on that.

There are plenty of muzzle brakes out there that are classified as non-flash hiding devices.

You can also get a crowned muzzle and have nothing on the barrel.

Also, check out NY Firearms - Home | New York Firearm & Gun Ownership, Laws, Politics, Weapons, Discussion Forums Lots of info about the laws on there.

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If you care, the law reads "ability to accept a detachable magazine..." but it's a moot point.