Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what are some good links to learn about the AR?
I have zero experience with the AR, I have only fired one but want to either buy one or build one.
I know the basic features I want but know nothing about the different brands or such
any good beginners material would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
here is a question
the one AR I shot had the full fiberglass stock, and when firing it had a major spring twang. felt like I was shooting a springer pellet rifle
I did not care for that
is this common?
I want a collapsible stock would that be common with a collapsible stock?

What I am wondering is would it be good to pick up a starter rifle or start picking up components?
I have been looking at the panther arms that starts out at $699, is that a good starter riifle?

·
Registered
698 Posts
I think if you are looking for a rifle in that price range you would be hard pressed to beat the Smith and Wesson MP-15 Sport.....If you are stuck on that price range that is....

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
well that price range would put an AR in my hands a little soon than the $1000 ranger or more

·
Registered
50 Posts
I'm new to the AR scene and prior to this had literally ZERO experience with guns in general (just bought my first handgun less than a month ago).

I read a LOT of the stickied threads on both ar15.com and m4carbine.net this past week and while there is a ton of information, I've been able to pick up enough to feel confident with beginning my first build. I chose to build because it is the best way for me to learn the ins and outs of the rifle. It can also help cut some costs if you're able to find good deals here and there on certain parts.

·
Registered
698 Posts
Haha yea I def. understand! I am pretty sure you can get the M&P Sport for that price range....

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #10