Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'll start this off by saying I'm very new to any maintenance of the AR platform. Right now I'm having troubles getting the M4 collapsible stock to tighten correctly. The extension tube wants to turn anytime I shoulder the weapon. Is there an easy way to tighten the nut without mangling it? It looks like there is a special wrench to use for these and I don't really want to break out the channel lock pliers or beat on it with a screw driver.

**EDIT @ 8:30pm**

This M4 stock is really aggravating me. With it installed, the bolt won't draw back far enough to lock or chamber a round.

·
Premium Member
3,090 Posts
Buy the special wrench. I got mine for $7 off the internet and had the buttstock tightened down in a few seconds.

·
Registered
21 Posts
yeah those wrenchs are cheap, I bought a cheap airsoft knock off from the neighbors kid for 3 dollars it works just as good as the real deal.

·
Premium Member
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Are the wrenches universal, meaning fitting both .223 and .308 rifles?

·
Banned
6,667 Posts
Yes, the nut is the same size.

This is why the nut should be staked, then it wouldn't come loose ;)

·
Premium Member
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well this has opened up an entirely new can of worms. With the M4 stock in place, the bolt won't open up far enough to lock into place or even chamber a round. The buffer detent and spring are seated correctly and everything looks good until I assemble the two halves and attempt to draw back the charging handle. Any ideas?

·
Banned
6,667 Posts
What did you buy?

Did you buy the stock as a kit, meaning the "tube", buffer, and spring came with the stock ?

or did you piece this together ?

·
Premium Member
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #8