Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been wanting to try IDPA/USPSA and I think it will finally happen before the season is out. I take my girlfriend shooting whenever possible and after watching some videos it seems like she might be interested in trying it. Anyone have experience shooting with their significant other? Any advice?

I first need her to buy a firearm of her own that she's comfortable shooting and get to the range to focus on the fundamentals. I'm by no means an expert and I'm cross dominant so some things are hard for me to translate to other shooters. I'm not sure what the best course of action should be. Thoughts are appreciated.

I've been telling her she needs a hobby to help keep her motivated so I'm hoping she will get the bug and really enjoy it.

·
Registered
2,371 Posts
I have tried and tried to get my wife into shooting. Not competing but just shooting regularly for self defense and for fun. She says, it's fun but she just doesn't enjoy it like I do. I can understand that. So as for your question, just don't force anything. If she wants to she will, if not well I guess your in the same boat as me lol

·
Registered
823 Posts
My wife used to shoot competitively. I never have. Last summer I encouraged her to try my new xdm .45 Competition. Somewhere between 15 and 20 yards she puts her first round half in / half out of the bullseye.

She practically tosses it down and says, "I don't like the trigger". She has a few really nice guns of her own. Had 'em before I knew her.

We do shoot together now and then. Lucky enough to have a range here at home. Live in the country.

Anyway, none of that has to do with the thread other than I would encourage you to get her involved. It's kinda fun. Especially, if she's better than you are! :grin:

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·