Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Where do you guys buy your ammo from? I'm looking for a cheap place but one that you've had good luck with in the past also. Prices on midwayusa.com and cheaperthandirt.com seem pretty good.

Also whats one of the less expensive brands that I can reliably use? I've heard bad things about Wolf ammo, should I stick with WWB or something comparable?

·
Registered
24 Posts
where does a person buy components to load 9mm for 2.00 per 100 rnds?

I recently looked at reloading for my 9mm and the best I could do was 105.00/1000, or 10.5 cents per rnd. this included fmj bullets, powder, recyled brass, and primers. And I could buy NIB ammo beginning at 98.00/1000.

I'm not trying to be a smart guy here, I'm new to shooting handguns and would genuinely like to learn to how to do this most econimically

For your cost I would buy a new loader and shoot a lot more. Can you help a guy out here....

·
Registered
300 Posts
I love Wolf ammo but I am not allowed to use it anymore, new range rules.
On a side note, do ranges make that much money off spent brass? Seems a lot of them disallow using steel or aluminum(CCI?) cased ammo. Must be somewhat lucrative if they won't allow their customers to shoot it.

Never given it much thought, but what makes brass the superior material for gun/shell casings? Guess it's time to do a little research for my own curiosity.

·
Registered
119 Posts
I'm curious about the .02 .40 rounds as well. My current setup is:

.06 match grade 180gr. FMJ
.01 once fired brass from e-bay
.01 new cci small pistol primer
.01 Blue Dot powda

For a grand total of 9 cents a round not including time. For me, this is a good deal, as I pay 16 cents a round for WWB.

·
Registered
168 Posts
Nickle1
How the hell can you do it so cheap?

easy cast

40s&w

lead free
cases free

powder $15.00 pound get about 2000 rounds a pound

primers $14.00 for 1000 $28.00 for 2000 primers