Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
Newbie here and first time gun owner. I fired many guns, but the XDM just stood out to me and I had my heart set on getting one ever since.

I recently got one - XDM-9 4.5 and I love it.

The issue I am having is that the holsters I have aren't naturally comfortable. This gun is heavier than others, and due to the way the XDM is (especially with the striker pin indicator at the back), it is uncomfortable when I sit down with it holstered in my lame-appendix holster. I am assuming that it is because the holster was "store-made" (aka, not made by a legit holster maker) and not much thought was put into it and it wasn't made for the XDM, that's why it feels like this.

I also have a second-hand Smart Carry that was made for another gun, that conceals very well but because it was made for a smaller gun it doesn't feel like I think it should feel (i.e. that I shouldn't notice that I have on the gun, versus it hurting me after a while).

I prefer to carry at my Appendix, so I would love some comfortable AIWB suggestions.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2 Posts
TT Gunleather or Desbiens BUT if you are new to handguns I might hold off on appendix carry and get some experience before doing so. Nothing against it but it really isn't the best choice for someone without some well-refined safety habits.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the suggestions Hadama. I am a gun newbie, but I do have well-refined safety habits.

In order to get my CCW permit, I had to do thorough training.

So safety isn't an issue for me. It really is just a matter of comfort now.

·
Registered
577 Posts