Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, so this is my first post on the site.

I'm not new to firearms, as I have shot, handled and cared after several. With a largely semi-antigun family, most of my exposure was thanks to friends from Church or work as I was going through college or an adult. As the latter, with my own responsibilities (taxes... Among other bills), I've decided to make my first firearm choice/purchase belonging to me.

After trying and renting I decided on an XDS. I thought I was sold on the 3.3 9mm. Truth be told I like the 45 acp a lot more. When not at work I'm in and out of the gym (big into physique), so there's just something appealing about the bigger round. With that however, I have to admit I can't shoot the 45 in that size nearly as well as the 9mm. I'm still learning.

The 4.0 XDS looked appealing at first but unfortunately out of proportion to me slide to frame. For what is worth, although I plan to carry IWB (4), I know I'll most often attempt AIWB (1-2). Anyways I just recently became aware Springfield offers an 8 round mag (9mm), and a 6 round mag (45). After trying it on a friend's XDS the grip felt much better even than an XDS with a Pearce which i tried.

So to make my already long first post a little shorter. For a gun that will be used for a variety of things, (range, cc, and bed), and with an 8 or 6 round mag (the new in between mag depending on caliber). Would you suggest the 3.3 or the 4.0. And hopefully avoiding the can of worms, 45 for personal likeness of the round despite slightly less accuracy, or settling for a 9mm for shoot ability.

P.S. Fwiw AIWB works better for me I believe. I'm 5'9 165, and with broad shoulders and 30 waist, tshirts seem to drape at front makin it easier. Thank you and apologies for the lengthy post.

·
Premium Member
4,971 Posts