Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked picked up a new XD9 that shoots 4" left and the elevation is good, even after pushing the rear sight. Was 6" left before pushing the rear sight. I have an XD40 that i shoot spot on for many years. Have tried Winchester white box, and a few other brands with same results, left by 4" at 7yds for over 250 rounds., but I get good groups ! Have taken it down and cleaned it, looked for any unusual wear spots and found nothing that I can find. I have been shooting pistols for many years, even played in the USPSA sandbox. So I know trigger control, sight alignment and sight picture. I prefer 1911 and can shoot them well. But this has me baffled. Checked both the front and rear sights and are tight, no movement. Checked the rear sight slot and it is centered to each side of the sight. My shooting buddy has the same XD9, have not shot with him since i got this pistol, but in the past when I shot his i had no problem hitting were i aimed. May take his side and barrel put on my frame and my slide and barrel on his frame and see what results we get. Will even have him shoot mine before to see what he gets since he is an NRA pistol instructor. If it continues shooting left, back to Springfield it goes.
Anything else I can check? Thanks.

·
Registered
7,642 Posts
Seems like an actual issue "mechanical" issue...maybe the sights are themselves off somehow?

Are there perhaps some small imperfections in the finish of the sight bodies that's causing you a visual aberration?

Indoor range or outdoors? If the latter, any coverings overhead? I am also wondering if it may be a lighting/vision issue - have you always been shooting this particular gun from the same stall, and maybe the lighting is just somehow "off," in that stall?