Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i can't seem to decide between the XDM 3.8 compact or the Mod.2 4" Service model. I have shot both and feel that the Xdm is a bit more accurate. Not sure it's the match grade barrel, or the feeling of less recoil but i was grouping better.I'm sure with more practice I would get better with either gun. Truly the only thing that i dislike of the Xdm is the rough handle, wish it had the mod.2 grip zone. I noticed that only after 50 rounds the back strap was irritating the palm of my hand (Maybe this is something I will get used to with time?). I'm a newbie and this will be my first pistol, hopefully someone can shine some light and help make my decision easier. I want a pistol for home defense and at the same time a pistol that is fun for the range. I also wonder if the talon grips help significantly with the roughness of the handle.

·
Registered
7,177 Posts
Yes, your hands will toughen-up - or, alternatively, you can pursue different grip-texture adhesive tape or even more aggressively "melt" the polymer-plastic grip body to achieve the texture of your desires (there are many individuals/shops who specialize in such re-texturing).

Given how new you are to shooting handguns, any difference you may see or feel (subjective) is likely due to variances in your techniques.

·
Registered
162 Posts
The XDM 3.8 is a very versatile gun. I like the optional large cap. It is also reliable and accurate. Not saying the other isn't just that I can outshoot my 1911 Colt with a 3.8.....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yes, your hands will toughen-up - or, alternatively, you can pursue different grip-texture adhesive tape or even more aggressively "melt" the polymer-plastic grip body to achieve the texture of your desires (there are many individuals/shops who specialize in such re-texturing).