Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i can't seem to decide between the XDM 3.8 compact or the Mod.2 4" Service model. I have shot both and feel that the Xdm is a bit more accurate. Not sure it's the match grade barrel, or the feeling of less recoil but i was grouping better. Truly the only thing that i dislike of the Xdm is the rough handle, wish it had the mod.2 grip zone. I noticed that only after 50 rounds the back strap was irritating the palm of my hand (Maybe this is something I will get used to with time?). I'm a newbie and this will be my first pistol, hopefully someone can shine some light and help make my decision easier. I want a pistol for home defense and at the same time a pistol that is fun for the range. I also wonder if the talon grips help significantly with the roughness of the handle.

·
Registered
205 Posts
I do prefer the XDM line. The XD and Mod.2 are fine too, but I like the bigger number of rounds mags in the XDM. Also I feel, IMHO, that the best grip is in the XDM, especially with the smaller back strap. The new Mod.2 models don't feel better for me. About your hand feeling a little irritation of your hand, it's a matter of time before you get "acclimatize" to the grip.

Remember this is my experience and therefore is one more , subjective, opinion.

Best of lucks!

·
Registered
410 Posts
The talon grips do make a difference for most people. If you go with the xdm you can also carry that as well as home defense. Yes some could carry the mod 2. I have both and yhe xdm wins hands down. Like the above posts says it is all up to you. If you can set up some kind of battle between the 2 for 100rds at the range that is what i would do

Reactions: Jonie45

·
Registered
215 Posts
I had the same dilemma... years later I have both :)
Despite the whole Grip Zone like/dislike, I'd say that the Mod.2 feels more "natural" in my hand.
Either way I don't believe you'll be disappointed. Good luck!

·