Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all....I am purchasing an XD-9sc and have a couple questions. First, I think I read somewhere that I could use my XD-40 mags in this "9" without any modification. True or Not? Comments?

Second, it's been decades since I studied the ballistics etc of the 9mm as a defensive round. So many types of 9mm now that I am getting lost in details. What makes the best round...heavier weight with lower velocity, faster velocity with lighter bullit, or "as heavy as possible with velocity at least 1000fps".....I am so lost in trying to decide the best here.

I would love all comments that will help here. Thanks!

·
Registered
10,955 Posts
Being a short barrel, you will loose alot of velocity versus the longer barrel. For that reason, I carry 115 grain Gold Dots in my SubXD so I will be more apt to get reliable expansion. As far as the mags, I use 9mm mags but I think you can tweak the feedlips on the .40 mags to make them work.

·
Registered
12 Posts
There are so many opinions about this, it's hard to decide what to carry. For what it's worth I carry Winchester Ranger 127 gr. +p+ in my XD-9 sc, I chose it because it's going to penetrate better than the 115's, and expand more reliably than a subsonic round. It's a proven LE round with a sound record of ending conflicts quickly. With that being said practice multiple shots, an adversary rarely goes down with just one shot! I practice at least a double tap but mainly triple taps. Another good load to consider is the Speer 124 gr Gold Dot +p, also DoubleTap is making 9mm ammo now and has been getting excellent reviews, they load in 115,124,147 gr weights all loaded to +p pressures. I use their 10mm loads frequently and can vouch for their quality. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
5,705 Posts