Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, I am a recently retired university professor. Years ago, I grew up shooting .22s and shotguns with my Dad in New Mexico. I have real respect for our 2nd Amendment rights and have become more and more concerned about the conditions of our country and the over-reaching Federal Government.

Two incidents recently brought me up short.

First was a break-in where all of my clothes, billfold, car keys, credit cards, etc. were stolen out of my gym locker by a young drug addict punk. I, fortunately, stayed on the police and remarkably, they caught the guy and actually recovered most of my items. He is now in jail. By my being really persistent, the police went around and immediately got pictures from the places he used my credit cards. The police were great and were happy to help me.

Second happened last week, where I was confronted in a downtown parking lot by a pretty rough looking man who demanded that I give him some money. I was close enough to my car that I jumped in, locked the doors, and drove away. I realized how badly the situation could have turned out. There was no one around to help me and I had no way to defend myself.

I have resolved to buy a handgun, take classes, and get a CHP so I will never again be that vulnerable. I may be retired but I do not plan to be a patsy.

I love retirement and at the age of 68 learned a whole new skill of shaving with a straight razor just for the fun of it. Now I am going to learn how to properly shoot a handgun and defend myself. Wish me luck.

I am considering a Springfield XD40 sub compact for my first handgun.

·
Premium Member
127,161 Posts
Hello, I am a recently retired university professor.

Welcome to the forum! I am a university professor only a few years younger than you.

·
Registered
329 Posts
Howdy neighbor! Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
431 Posts