Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been reloading for only about 6 to 8 months, I load 40 cal. more than anything since thats what I shoot the most. I reload simply for the reason that I want to produce the most accurate round possible. With the 40 cal. round I have only used 180 gr. bullets in many different brands. I have successfully found a load that I am very pleased with. My question is as follows, I want to try bullets of lower weights 135 gr. , 155 gr. , 165 gr. If you could only buy one of the above mentioned weights which would it be. As I said I like the 180 but I am searching for even more accuracy, tighter groups.

·
Registered
12,197 Posts
What are your accuracy requirements & are you & your pistol upto it? I find you can build an accurate load w/ any of the bullet wts. w/ the right powder combo. Only one bullet, probably 165gr-170gr depending on whether plated, jacketed or lead. My best accuracy load out of my USP & 4006 is 6gr of Unique under 165gr Berry'sFP. Offhand it will go right @ 1" for 5 shots @ 15yds.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What are your accuracy requirements & are you & your pistol upto it? I find you can build an accurate load w/ any of the bullet wts. w/ the right powder combo. Only one bullet, probably 165gr-170gr depending on whether plated, jacketed or lead. My best accuracy load out of my USP & 4006 is 6gr of Unique under 165gr Berry'sFP. Offhand it will go right @ 1" for 5 shots @ 15yds.