Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all from Balitmore! Just purchased a XD-45 service a couple weeks ago and wanted peoples opinions on the gold dots vs. the HST's. Does anyone use the +P or is it just overkill? I also was interested in the 230 grain gold dots that double tap produce because of the good velocity at 230 grain. I'm new to the .45 having owned a .38 snubbie and .357 in the past. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
127 Posts
As far as dropping an intruder, they are both going to do the job, and do it well. If it's not a huge financial burden for you, buy a box each of a few different brands and try them out at the range.

I found that my XD fed all of the premium rounds with no problem. I preferred the low recoil Hydra Shok ammo myself. Easier to shoot with one hand and odd positions than the +P, so it seemed like it would work better for me. Your experience may be different, so try them out and see what you like...

·
Premium Member
20,508 Posts
both are fine choices, like Scott said if you can afford it buy a box of each, see which one you are more accurate with.

·
Premium Member
355 Posts
I like CoBon ammo and most of their stuff is rated +P. As long as you know what's behind your target and as long as you hit what you shoot, it shouldn't be a problem.

Enjoy the gun and shoot often :)

·
Premium Member
3,762 Posts
I carry the HST standard load pressure. I have had the +P but it seemed unnecessary. The snap back of recoil was pretty harsh and might cause you extra time to reaquire sight picture.

·
Registered
787 Posts
I carry the HST standard load pressure. I have had the +P but it seemed unnecessary. The snap back of recoil was pretty harsh and might cause you extra time to reaquire sight picture.
I carry the standard pressure 230 HST in my 45 service. I do not think +P is needed. You can not go wrong with either.
Same here. +P is not needed in a .45.

·
Registered
1 Posts