Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, here's what I've been thinking of, I own a xd.45 service and I am a broke college student, therefore the amount of shooting I would like to do is impossible. I've been thinking about trying to invest in a .22 pistol to do more training. Is there anything close to the xd in a .22 caliber? I've been thinking of a mark lll but they have very little in common with a xd... So now I turn to you, Does anyone have any ideas to help with this situation? I would want it to be accurate and dependable. thanks

·
Premium Member
7,895 Posts
Get a MK III 22/45

Grip angle will be very close to the same. Controls close.

It's about the best you can do.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Get a MK III 22/45

Grip angle will be very close to the same. Controls close.

It's about the best you can do.
If you go this route, make sure to hold the 22/45 first. I held one the other day for the first time and it completely changed my opinion. I thought it was horribly uncomfortable and nothing like an XD grip. It was a relatively narrow grip, but the grip was long in the trigger to back length so it felt very odd.

Joe

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Ever thought about reloading??? You would spend much less on the equipment than on a new 22 and shoot a ton more!!! Just a suggestion good luck!!!

·
Premium Member
7,895 Posts
Ever thought about reloading??? You would spend much less on the equipment than on a new 22 and shoot a ton more!!! Just a suggestion good luck!!!
Those numbers never quite work out.

You will spend around $200-$300 to get decent basic reloading equipment.

Lead bullets for the .45 run around $0.06 each. And .22 lr rounds are cheaper than that.

Plus there is the time factor. Time spent reloading for the .45 is time that could be spent shooting the .22

·
Premium Member
5,354 Posts