Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new XD-9 Bi-tone Service Promo Package finally arrived and I picked it up today. :D I’m a newbie so I was as excited as a kid on Christmas morning. :oops:

After unpacking it, I field stripped it and wiped off the excess oil. There really wasn’t much of it so it only took a minute. I then sprayed the exterior of the SST slide with Boeshield T-9 for some additional corrosion protection. I reassembled the pistol and headed for my local indoor range.

I fired off 205 rounds and only quit because they were closing for the evening. I put the following ammo through it mixing the rounds up as I went along:

100 rounds of CCI Blazer 115gr FMJ
85 rounds of WWB 115gr FMJ (much less muzzle flash than the Blazer ammo)
15 rounds of WWB 115gr JHP
5 rounds of Federal Hydra-shok 147gr JHP

Everything went through the included 3 hi-cap magazines without even a minor hiccup. 100% reliability right out of the box! :D

Accuracy appears to be fine but since I wasn’t using any kind of rest I can’t be totally sure. My shooting technique clearly needs work and I will be getting a coach to help in two weeks. He’s giving me individual Florida CCW training as well as some shooting lessons. He’s a retired Marine small arms instructor and trains the local police department SWAT on small arms. I’m sure I’ll learn a ton in those 8 hours.

I definitely shot the XD much better than the two Glocks. The better (for me) ergonomics certainly has something to do with it. However, I think the major benefit was the superior, IMHO, sights. For me, the Glock sights are unsatisfactory. I simply can't get good alignment with that configuration. The three dot sights on the XD are much better for me.