Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up two DPMS lowers from a local shop. Now comes the fun part. I have never built an AR before but I have spent the better part of the last two weeks reading and viewing everything I can find on the subject - lots of great web sites and info out there.

I plan to build two rifles:

1) Pretty basic M4 lightweight with A2 or A3 upper and a collapsable stock. I'll probably start with basic iron sights and add some sort of optic later. I want to keep this pretty much as a basic combat/tactical configuration without a lot of bells and whistles. I may go for the short quadrail and/or a railed gas block with detachable front sight eventually but not at first.

2) This will be a tack-driver. Probably 18" or 20" Heavy Barrel (floated) A3 flat-top with an A2 solid stock and mid-sized quadrail. Maybe piston driven with a fairly high-end optic and a detachable bi-pod. Weight is not as much a consideration as I will be shooting this one mainly from a rest (prone or bench). Definitely an adjustable target trigger group is in order.

Unfortunately, everyone seems to be out of pretty much everything right now so patience will be key. At this point, I plan to build #1 first and then #2 but that may be driven more by availability of parts. The next show in my area is 12/20 - hopefully it will be better by then (the "panic" will subside?).

Any suggestions/recommendations on configurations, specific components and/or possible suppliers?

Like I said, I would like to build the 2 rifles pretty much opposite ends of the spectrum but it will be interesting to see what I end up with.

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
1) If you ever plan to mount any sort of optics on it, I'd go ahead and get the flat top upper now. If you want BUIS, get them and use them until you can get your optics, but I wouldn't go for the A2 and then get stuck with limited options on mounts/optics.