Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, I am new to this whole 1911 scene, and am looking to make my first purchase. I have 3 XD's and love em, but there is something about a 1911 that makes me gotta have one!!
I have about 700 bucks to spend and I am looking at either the SA GI or milspec. What are the major differences in the two other than the sights? Is there any advantages/disadvantages to either?
THanks for any help, I am a 1911 rookie, but I am trying to catch up!!

·
Registered
373 Posts
I'm a newbie to 1911's too but have my heart set on a SA SS Loaded once tax time hits. Anyways, there is a great comprehensive sticky on it at 1911Forum.com - 1911 news, reviews, and more! under the Springfield forum. Not sure if you have to be a registered user to see it, you might as well sign up anyways.

·
Premium Member
3,090 Posts
Basic Descriptions:

WW2 (GI) Model: Pistol closely replicates the basic 1911A1 as used by the US military for seven decades. Features:
  • high wall ("narrow") ejection port
  • low profile GI sights
  • lanyard loop on mainspring housing
  • vertical cocking serrations on slide

Mil-Spec: Pre-dated the G.I. model, adds some popular features/upgrades
  • stainless barrel and bushing (some models)
  • loaded chamber indicator (some models)
  • lowered and flared ejection port
  • high profile 3-dot sights
  • beveled magazine well
  • loss of the lanyard loop on mainspring housing
  • forward-raked cocking serrations on slide

Loaded: An upgrade from the Mil-Spec with even more of the most popular features/upgrades
  • beavertail grip safety
  • Novak sights
  • ambidextrious thumb safety
  • long 3 hole trigger
  • full length guide rod (2-piece)
  • front cocking serrations
  • flat mainspring housing

I'd go with the Mil Spec. If you save save up another $100, the Loaded version is well worth it.

·
Premium Member
4,402 Posts