Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been curious how, of if there's another way to do this other then by chambering a round from the mag, then popping it out and topping it off.
I'm a gun newb, so I'm sure I'll be posting a lot of common sense stuff here for a bit.

·
Premium Member
4,843 Posts
How I carry all of my CCW weapons. Don't try to load it any other way.

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
It really is the best option for doing getting your plus one. At first it kind of seems like a hassle, but it takes what... an extra 5 seconds? You get used to it. The only other way I know of is to drop one in the tube and let the slide fly forward, but as everyone will tell you, you're asking for damaged parts doing it that way. Stick with what you've been doing.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've been too paranoid of messing something up to do that. Considering it looks like the round is kinda grabbed from the top, I don't see how just putting it in the pipe would work.

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
Exactly. That's how it's designed to work (being stripped from the magazine and loaded into the barrel). By dropping one in the pipe and sending the slide forward can lead to a damaged extractor. It makes sense considering that's not an intended action.

·
Registered
33 Posts
I'm in agreement with what everyone has already said.But,if for some reason you HAVE to load only one round(lost mag etc.),Put it in the chamber & let the slide down gently on it to avoid damaging the extractor.There might also be circumstances where you want chamber a round quietly therefore working the slide slowly.In either case give it a little extra push,press or tap to make sure the gun is in full battery.