Wiring for surround sound?

Discussion in 'XDTalk Chatter Box' started by UofHdevildog, May 25, 2012.

1. UofHdevildog

UofHdevildog XDTalk 5K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My house starts construction in a little over a week and I figured during framing would be the best time to wire for surround sound. My situation though is I have zero experience doing it. I'm very mechanically inclined but have never messed with wiring. Is this something that's easy to do, or should I leave it to the pros?

2. PsychOfMSE

PsychOfMSE XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's as easy as planning your speaker placement and running standard speaker cabling. As long as you know your placement it is a piece of cake. I went ahead and went the extra mile by wiring my house with Ethernet and hdmi to every cable outlet so every tv and computer has a gigabit Ethernet connection and every tv can get a feed from my media center.

3. UofHdevildog

UofHdevildog XDTalk 5K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So just buy the wire and fasten it to the frame with the ends of for the speakers in the right spot? After that do I just go back and tell the builder where to leave holes in the drywall?

4. Rt1Rebel

Rt1Rebel XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I did this a few years ago, it's pretty easy if your builder is cooperative. I was also able to run all of my AV cabling to and from the monitor, but it took some planning.

My advice is to terminate all of the wires at one end from a wall junction box (behind) where your components will be placed. Terminate all monitor wires in a junction box (behind) where your monitor will be hung/place. Terminate all speaker wires through a small hole in the drywall where your speakers will hang, or up through the floor where they will sit. My builder ran the wires and cables though holes drilled through the wall studs.