What .22lr AR rifles use a standard lower?

Discussion in 'AR Talk' started by tjNOVA, Nov 19, 2011.

1. tjNOVA

tjNOVA XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi! I'm new to ARs - I'd like to purchase a .22lr AR, and I was thinking it would be great and cost effective if I could buy a complete .22lr AR that I could later convert to .223/5.56, either with a new upper, or (even better) by replacing the BCG and magazines.

I shot a S&W M&P 15-22 yesterday and loved it, but I know these don't accept standard AR uppers. I would be using it as a .22 for cheap/fun plinking/range shooting, and to get my wife into shooting (she shoots my 9mm XD(m), but is a little intimidated by the recoil). My local range does not allow rifle calibers. I would use 5.56 for range shooting and 3gun. If I got the 5.56 and decided I loved it, I'd probably build a higher quality rifle in the future.

My questions:
    Is there a complete rifle similar to the M&P 15-22 (hopefully in that price range) which I could later convert to .223/5.56 by replacing the BCG/magazine, similar to how you would convert a .223/5.56 to fire .22lr?

Is there a complete rifle similar to the M&P 15-22 (hopefully in that price range) that I could later convert to a .223/5.56 by replacing the upper/magazine?

Is this whole idea dumb? Would I be better off buying the .22 AR now, and a totally different .223/5.56 rifle later? If so, why?

Please be patient if I asked a completely ridiculous question (I'm really new to ARs)! Thank you for your help!

2. JesseeS

JesseeS XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm new to AR's as well, but i feel it would be easier to get a 5.56/.223 and buy the conversion kit for it, so it's just a simple bcg change. That's what I did atleast. Might also be less costly to go that route

3. RedRyder

RedRyder XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0