total newbie to ARs, need your help

Discussion in 'AR Talk' started by basheesh, Jan 23, 2012.

1. basheesh

basheesh XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    attempting my first build:confused:

already bought:
    spikes forged lower
    spikes enhanced lower kit
    spikes buffer assembly
    magpul str stock

now im working on the upper and i didnt know if i should:
    1. go forged [$115] or billet [$225] for the upper receiver
    2. go forged [$23] or billet [$33] charging handle
    3. go standard phosphate [$110] or NiB [$220] bcg
    4. go chrome lined barrel [$189] or lothar walther stainless barrel w/ mid length gas [$330]
    **and is the gas piston really worth the extra $$$

i'm on a tight leash when it comes to the money but i also don't mind spending a little extra on the things that might benefit me later down the line. i don't plan on selling any of my guns so i want to make sure that they don't belly up on me a few years down the line.

so please, all your wisdom, experience, and input would be much appreciated. thanks again!:mrgreen:

2. Jayock

Jayock XDTalk Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    1. Forged - stronger and standard
    2. Whatever you want. Not much difference. BCM gunfighter is nice, but easily changed later.
    3. NiB is awesome. Your choice though. If you clean and lube properly there isn't a lot of difference. NiB cleans a bit easier and needs less lube. Consider though that you can replace the whole thing again if ever needed for the price of NiB. Also easily changeable later.
    4. Chrome lined will last longer. The Lothar Walther will be more accurate. Do you want a run and gun carbine with tons of rounds, or an in place longer range AR. Both have their place in my rotation.

If you want a piston AR, buy one off the shelf, don't build one. The conversion kits have their own set of issues. Unless you loathe cleaning, my opinion is to DI. Piston is an afterthought on the AR, and IMO is a solution looking for a problem.