Rust issues on the slide...

Discussion in 'XD Gunsmithing and Maintenance' started by ciprimm23, Jun 1, 2012.

1. ciprimm23

ciprimm23 XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a Springfield XD Subcompact .40. I've been having some major rust issues with the slide as well as the grip safety. I've been keeping it clean and oiled atleast every two weeks sinse I started noticing the rust. I've own numerous makes/models of guns and have NEVER had this issue like the XD...so I don't think im necessarily doing anything wrong. I uses Hoppes solvent and oil. I want to know if anyone else has had similar issues and what was done to take care of it?

Thanks.

(By the way, im new to xd talk so if im not posting this in the correct spot please let me know.)

2. shatnerglass

shatnerglass XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    There's a whole subforum dedicated to rust.

How do you store the weapon? If it's in the XD/XDm case with foam, change your storage method.

3. ciprimm23

ciprimm23 XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I appologise for posting in the wrong spot. Now I know for next time. I stored it in a hard case with foam...oiled and cleaned constantly....never put away wet. Yesterday I ordered a pelican case in attemp to keep rust off.

4. shatnerglass

Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I'd keep it away from any foam. Even a Pelican case.

5. ajamesp51

ajamesp51 Official Site Vendor Supporting Vendor

Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    A pelican case will seal in the moisture, buy some anti rust tabs (VPCI) to put in the case with the gun.

6. szhttm

szhttm XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yeah, as they have stated, try to not store them in cases. There is no air flow to dry them out.

It may be best if you acquire yourself a safe a or cabinet that you can store it on a pistol rack. This will help ensure you don't continue to have the issues you have had.