RR: XD9SC vs....... P229? Long rant ensues

Discussion in 'SA-XD/XD(M) Range Reports' started by BlockDaddy21, Feb 1, 2010.

1. BlockDaddy21

BlockDaddy21 XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello all,

First of all, this is my first posting to the Forum, although I have been an avid viewer for some time now. I have been having a very interesting (and enlightening) experience at the range over the past couple of days and just had to get it off my chest.

In the Beginning...

First, some background. I'm relatively new to pistolcraft, purchasing my first pistol (XD9SC) about 6 months ago with the intention of CCW. My first trip to the range resulted in a pretty consistent picture: 2-3" groupings at 15yd out of the box. In other words, I could hit the inside of a coffee mug with relative ease at that distance, and that had me feeling pretty darned good - especially with a "puny" 3" bbl. Subsequent range trips had me tightening that up as well.

Here are 13 shots @ 15 yds, and, scout's honor, there were no misses:
    [​IMG]

Enter Phase II

After a few months of familiarizing myself with the "gun culture," getting to know a number of my local aficionados and proprietors, and scouring various online resources, I get an itch that I just can't help but scratch: Sig Sauer. Nearly everything I hear and read tells me that, while a bit pricy, you pretty much can't go wrong with a Sig.

Well, I had a decent bonus this year, and I was generally a good boy, so I broke down and purchased a Sig P229 .40 S&W in Nitron finish and Trijicons. This was followed shortly thereafter by a Milt Sparks VMII, several mags, Hogue G10 grips, and a couple of cases of Winchester White Box. I couldn't WAIT to get to the range now!

P229 Day 1:

I unpack my range bag, carefully placing my P229, XD9sc, and associated paraphernalia on the table. Perhaps it was just my excitement, but I'm pretty sure the 229 made a delightful <schwing> sound as I pulled it from its range bag "scabbard."