Range Report - Core 15 M4-MOE

Discussion in 'AR Talk' started by windsearcher, Mar 25, 2012.

1. windsearcher

windsearcher XDTalk 3K Member

Ratings:
    +49 / 1
    [​IMG]

So, I posted earlier this month about the new addition to the family - this: GTO Core15 M4- MOE. Chambered in 5.56/.223 with 1/8 twist and Magpul BUIS. (no optics yet.... That's for when budget allows)

Got out to the range on Sat. and put about 150 rounds through it.

First and foremost, I am a "FNG" to the AR platform. My exposure to rifles has been limited to marksmanship training in college with .22lr target rifles, a hunter safety course way, way back..... and an occasional try-out of a friend's rifle, or a couple of shots out of an M-14 .... and a few sessions with my shotgun. So, I am not a professional in any manner. This is purely an UN-technical thread about a first experience with this AR platform from a newbie.

The range session was 100% to learn what to do with the thing. Get accustomed to the controls and work on getting sight picture, etc.

Now.. the good: The Core15 seems to be well balanced. It comes up on target quickly. The Magpul double aparature rear sight makes it easy for both the fast acquition (lg opening), and the accurate shots (smaller opening). The rifle seems to be made well, and while I was not shooting for accuracy out of a bench rest, (all shots were taken standing, unsupported, with no sling), I was holding groups acceptable to me at about 45-50 yards. I fired 2 - 30rd magazines of American Eagle brass cased 5.56 with zero failures of any sort. As compared to the stock front handguard, the MOE forend was quite comfortable and I'm glad I went for the upgrade.

The bad: I picked up some 55gr and 62 gr Herters steel cased ammo from Cabelas on the recomendation of a friend who shoots it all the time. I had no luck at all with that ammo.