Price Check Ruger P85

Discussion in 'Non-XD Handguns' started by xd40xd, Mar 6, 2007.

1. xd40xd

xd40xd XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    price check on a Ruger P85 - fired a couple of times. excellent condition

2. The Knight Of Light

The Knight Of Light XDTalk 5K Member

Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Is it Stainless steel? Does it have the marking MKIIR on it? Also does it have the case and extra magazine?

3. xd40xd

xd40xd XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0

no markings ? no case, no exta magazines

not stainless steel

4. The Knight Of Light

Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    From the Blue book of gun values.

P85 9mm
    100% 98% 95%
    $350 $295 $265

Subtract $30 if without case and extra magazine.
    Any P85 models without the "MKIIR" stamp must be returned to the factory for a free safety modification.

I say put a price of 345 on the gun and it should sell.

5. xd40xd

xd40xd XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0

can you tell that i am a little new to handguns?

what safety modification do they do to it?

6. The Knight Of Light

Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    I am not sure the book doesn't say, but I would think it has something to do with the decocking system. You might want to give Ruger a call and see what they have to say on the subject.

7. Brickboy240

Brickboy240 XDTalk 25K Member

Ratings:
    +468 / 5
    I used to own one of those.

If you're new to handguns, I can tell you, there ARE better choices for the same or less money. Guns that are higher quality and feel better in the hand.

I'd really suggest looking around before buying the Ruger P-85. I, too bought one when I knew little about pistols. Now, I'd never trade of of my more worthy 9mms for the big, ugly, blocky Ruger P-85.

Ruger has the single action revolver and 22 semi-auto pistols down really well, but their cneterfire autos leave alot to be desired, if you ask me.