Plated vs. Lead vs. FMJ

Discussion in 'The Ammo Can' started by gsh341, May 12, 2010.

1. gsh341

gsh341 XDTalk 5K Member

Ratings:
    +43 / 0
    I'm just getting started on reloading and have a question about bullets for my XD-40.

I can buy hard cast lead, plated and FMJ. I've heard that hard cast will cause lead fouling in the barrel.

I know FMJ doesn't have that issue, but do plated bullets?

These are what I was looking at.
    http://berrysmfg.com/product-i14499-c14-g8-b0-p0-.40_Cal_180gr_FP_DS.aspx

http://berrysmfg.com/product-i14563-c33-g8-b0-p0-4010MM_.401_180gr_FP.aspx

Just asking.

2. mongoose33

mongoose33 XDTalk 2K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Generally, plated will not have any lead problems. The only exception I can think of would be if you pushed them so fast that the plating separated, exposing the lead.

Couple of things:

First, as you begin this process, consider using some FMJ bullets to start. There are enough variables to learn and consider without including issues of bullets. FMJ would be the easiest.

Second, if you're not going FMJ, plated is best to start, as you surmised. You want to load plated bullets more like lead than like FMJ, i.e., lower loads not higher ones. Plated acts like lead for the most part.

Once you get the basics down (how to resize, casemouth expansion, seating bullets to a consistent overall length, getting the taper crimp correct), then it's easier to expand the repertoire.

Eventually, though, from the standpoint of saving money, you'll want to consider lead. There are some great commercially-available lead bullets out there, which are a LOT cheaper than plated (which is quite expensive, actually, compared to FMJ and Lead).

I'm shooting Missouri Bullets right now. Lead bullets. Looking at 6000 of them in my reloading shop. Shoot well, leading virtually nonexistent, and inexpensive. I'm using them in both 9mm and .45.

Good luck!

3. mongovb

mongovb XDTalk 1K Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0