OAL for accuracy

Discussion in 'The Ammo Can' started by MTgrizz, Jan 21, 2013.

1. MTgrizz

MTgrizz XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am new to pistol reloading. I have reloaded a lot of ammo for bolt action rifles. The biggest gains in accuracy I saw in rifle ammo was loading the bullet out as close to the rifling in the barrel as possible without actually contacting it. I assume the same thing holds true for a pistol.

I realize that bullet shape has a lot to do with it, but what oal do most of you use in your XD's to gain accuracy and still fit in the mag and function? I obviously wont be decreasing oal below the recommended load data due to the potential for increasing pressure.

I have loaded a few rounds for my XDm 40 4.5" that are fairly accurate (probably more accurate than I can shoot them) but I can probably do better. Everything I have loaded so far has been at 1.125".

2. Mercmar

Mercmar XDTalk 5K Member

Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    I load a lot of rifle and handgun ammo. I use the Hornady tool for determining o.a.l. for my precision rifle loading. I load pistol ammo so that it feeds well. I don't believe you'll notice a measurable difference in accuracy in handgun reloading, based on o.a.l.

3. agalindo

agalindo XDTalk 15K Member Founding Member

Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    +1 on Mercmar's comment.

4. 57K

57K XDTalk 2K Member

Ratings:
    +33 / 3
    Depending on the bullet style, 1.125" is probably a good OACL. If I were loading for only 1 9mm pistol I would find the max. allowable OACL where the bullet just touches the lands with a specific bullet and then shorten that OACL by .005" like you'd do in rifle reloading. Let me mention this also, all of my jacketed loads use JHP bullets. I don't use FMJ or plated. For economy, I just use cast lead.