New DPMS LR-308 Project

Discussion in 'AR Talk' started by Diamond Jim, Dec 14, 2012.

1. Diamond Jim

Diamond Jim XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    New DPMS LR-308 project (high rail, smooth sided, 24” stainless bull barrel). I came real close to getting the 20” LR-308B, glad I didn’t now. This my first AR and originally I was just going to get a Windham .223 flat-top, but my son “Insisted” that I get the LR-308 as I had been eyeballing it for several years. He was right about that, every time I got close to having the funds for one in the past they would be out of stock and being married with children there was always something coming up that would use those funds for something else. This time Buds had it in stock (now they don’t) and they had their lay-a-way program operational, so I sent in a $200 deposit and paid it out over the next month. My son did good on this one, one of many reasons I’ve always been proud of him. I ended up with roughly $2260 in this project including shipping and FFL transfer fees. The rifle itself was $1036 delivered, the following additions made up the rest of the cost:

Geissele SSA-E 2-stage trigger

Magpul PRS stock for LR-308

Vortex Viper HS 5-15x44 scope (Midway exclusive)

Burris Signature Zee “Extra High” 30mm rings with offset inserts

Butler Creek flip-up caps #14 & #33

Harris 9”-13” notch leg bi-pod

Four Magpul 20LR Pmags for LR-308 (rifle came with two steel 19 round DPMS mags)