Need .40 Rainer 165 grn. HP bullet data???

Discussion in 'The Ammo Can' started by Master Chief, Jan 18, 2008.

1. Master Chief

Master Chief XDTalk Newbie

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I just acquired a box of .40 Rainer 165 grn. HP bullets, but it is very hard to find load data for this bullet. I have Winchester brass, primers, and both Winchester 231, and WSF powders on hand. Is there anywhere to find starting min. and max. load data for these powders, or do I need to change powders?

Thanks,
    Master Chief

One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything.

2. pinhole

pinhole XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    MC,
    I am no expert, but I have loaded that bullet with whose primers and 231. Now that masterblaster is out of business I was thinking of going back to them. Let me look through my stuff and see what I have for reload data. I'll get back later.
    pete

3. xdmikey

xdmikey XDTalk 500 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    MC-
    you're right-very little info. you could change powders; i use power pistol. i'm looking for info for your situation.
    for a sierra jhp 165 gr: 4.8-5.3. this is from hornady's '07 reloading annual manual(for the lawyers). i rarely max charges. w/that in mind i used to load plated bullets using info such as above; i didn't load them using lead specs. sometimes i still don't. but i usually go to three sources to cross reference.
    what i've just given you would probably get me roasted on arfcom and might here but i'm just trying to pass on solid info & my experience.
    you don't say where you're located. you can email me if you don't want to broadcast that info.
    i'm basically in houston and have access to many reloading sources: Carter, 10ring, gander. you could google them from wherever you are and call them direct as well!
    good luck

4. philbo

philbo XDTalk 100 Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0