Springfield XD Forum banner

N-PAP or WASR-10 for 1st AK?

44K views 41 replies 23 participants last post by  axel2078 
#1 ·
I'm considering both the Zastava N-PAP and the WASR-10 as my first AK after I get my M1 Garand and Gen4 G19. This gun will be a range/fun gun, with possible SHTF uses if needed (like my AR). I shot a friend's WASR several years ago and it did well, and I from my research the quality and fit of the WASRs have improved recently. I have also read quite a bit of good things about the N-PAP too, but am less familiar with it. I see them for about the same price on GB, with the difference I can gather being that the WASR has a chrome lined barrel.

So for those who have experience with both:

1) How does the quality of the N-PAP stack up vs. the WASR? I ask this because I have no real first hand experience with the Zastava.

2) is the chrome lined barrel on the WASR a big advantage, and is the lack of it a big problem on the N-PAP? I mostly plan to shoot Wolf and Tula through it.

3) Do both of these have Warsaw Pact length stocks? I'm about 5'7 and 160 lbs and wonder how guys of my size like the standard stock lengths on these guns. I can swap it to something else, but it'd be nice to leave it stock if possible.

4) Given that both are the same price, which would you go with?

Thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·